FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

New trailer pit build... Welder & Tank size questions

View previous topic :: View next topic  
BBQ Freak

PostPosted: Wed Sep 29 10 12:48 pm    Post subject: New trailer pit build... Welder & Tank size questions Reply with quote

Ok, this is my first post to the ring. Been reading for awhile and finally decided to jump in because I need advice. I've been cooking on backyard smokers for several years and after one too many "volunteer" BBQ missions to various picnics, parties or whatever, I got sick and tired of having to load my cooker into that back of my truck. Recently I decided it was time for a project and started planning my trailer rig.

I managed to pick up a 150 gallon propane tank (already vented) for free which at first look I thought was a good size, but after looking at some other builds it seems most people are going with larger tanks. This one is about 24" in diameter and about 5' long overall (end to end). I also have access to (I think) a 350 gallon that is supposedly 30" diameter and 5' long for very cheap. For a first build what is recommended? I like the idea of the larger cooking space of the larger tank, but because of the "venues" I cook I was thinking of building in a gas grill, cooler, side burner/turkey fryer and tool box for storage. Any pros/cons of 150 vs. 350???