FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can't find Pork Fat!

View previous topic :: View next topic  
rjmontana

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23 06 3:19 am    Post subject: Can't find Pork Fat! Reply with quote

Hello all, RJ in Montana here. I'm a newbie and just posted on the introduction board but thought I'd pose my question here as well. I am ready to start experimenting with home sausage making but most recipes I am interested in trying usually call for some pork butt and/or fresh pork fat to be used either by themselves or to cut some lean beef/venison. No problem finding the Boston Butt but I am not having much luck finding any butcher shops that keep or will sell straight pork fat.
I understand the spoiling/rancid factor with the pork products but where do you seasoned guys scrounge up your fresh pork fat to home brew with?? Does the Pork Butt roast posess enough fat content to carry the fat load in sausage recipes or is there a different cut that will fill the bill if I can't get any fresh Pork Fat to add to my counter cuts for grinding. Thanks for the help and I look forward to visiting the site ...RJ in Montana..
bigabyte
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23 06 3:57 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The Pork Butt Roast is as good as it gets as far as using for sausage.
JimH
BBQ Super Pro

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23 06 4:20 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I asked the butcher at my local grocery store and he told me to give him a little advance notice if I wanted some pork fat.
rjmontana

PostPosted: Thu Nov 23 06 7:50 am    Post subject: To WoooDoggy Reply with quote