FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Butt/picnic bacon Question

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Smoke Ring Forum Index -> Cured Meat Recipes
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Q-in
BBQ Fan

PostPosted: Thu Jan 24 13 10:30 pm    Post subject: Butt/picnic bacon Question Reply with quote

i wanted to try making some buckboard bacon and found that I can get the Hi-Mountain cure at the local Bass pro.
I had planned on picking up a loin,but after reading the product description,it said make bacon out of butt.
It got me thinking,I have a sliced butt and a picnic in the freezer.
So for the questions,
Would you use either or buy a loin?
Witch one,sliced butt or picnic?
This is my first attempt at bacon and want it to be at least decent.
Confused
ComradeQ
BBQ Fan

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25 13 4:11 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I know most people use the butt for buckboard. The loin will give you Canadian bacon, good too. Harry, on this forum, mentioned that he slices his pork butt so it is in slabs similar in size and shape to actual pork belly bacon. That way after curing and smoking it can be sliced into strips that look almost identical to actual bacon. If I were doing it that's the way I would go. Of course you could also get pork belly and use that cure to make actual bacon.

When you say sliced butt, how is it sliced? You don't want thin slices to go in the cure, a slab is better that you can then slice after curing and smoking. You could use picnic too, just slice it into slabs that you could slice into bacon after the cure, making sure to remove the skin and debone.
Q-in
BBQ Fan

PostPosted: Fri Jan 25 13 5:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks ComradeQ
The butt is sliced probably 1/2 thick.