FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How BBQ Helped Save Apollo 13
Goto page 1, 2  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    The Smoke Ring Forum Index -> General BBQ Discussion
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Boshizzle

PostPosted: Sat Mar 08 14 9:34 am    Post subject: How BBQ Helped Save Apollo 13 Reply with quote

Mods: If this is the wrong place, please move to the correct place. Please bear with me as I learn the correct forum protocols. Thanks!

I have been a member here for a while but haven't posted much. But, I have decided that I should be a better forum member and participate more.

I have been cooking BBQ since the 1970's and really enjoy cooking and eating it and I have met a lot of good friends in my BBQ travels through the years. I am not a pro but I am a very committed BBQ buff. Smile

I am currently in the last stages of doing research for a book that I am writing. This account of the Apollo 13 crisis is something I ran across a couple of years ago in my research. It's not the right kind of info for my book but I thought that all of you would appreciate it too.

Apollo thirteen was supposed to be the third landing on the moon by American astronauts. Two days into the journey to the moon, an oxygen tank exploded crippling the spacecraft and seriously endangering the lives of the astronauts James Lovell, Mission Commander, Jack Swigert, Command Module pilot and Fred Haise, the Lunar Module Pilot. There is no doubt that the tireless and heroic efforts of the astronauts and the ground support crew saved Apollo thirteen and safely returned it to earth six days after embarking on their ill-fated mission. But, there is one other "hero" in all this that you probably never heard about: American barbecue.